Posted by: Jason Wood | February 24, 2009

My first soup! Sage-flavored Vegetable

Soup is something that I have never had any luck making. None, nada, zip. It always ended up hot water with some vegetables (which I guess some soup is supposed to be but never what I was aiming for) so it was with some trepidation that I decided to try this next recipe.

First off, Z-man and Supergirl are on vacation at the moment with their Mom and step-dad so the chance to try something in the kitchen without having to say, “try it, you’ll like it!” was exciting. Of course, this is not the only thing I have made while they are gone but the only thing that I remembered to grab my camera to document!

The recipe is from one of my favorite bloggers, Beatrice Peltre at La Tartine Gourmande and the recipe is one that she wrote for the Boston Globe. The recipe is linked above so I am not going to reprint it here, just how it looked as I made it (and maybe more people will discover her blog which is amazing!)

So here is everything on the counter all ready to go 

img_1850

First thing to do is to chop up all the veggies

img_1853

looks good already, eh?

Then we grind the coriander up

img_18521

Then put the coriander in with the oil and butter that were heating up while I ground all my frustrations out on the coriander (why else would you own a mortar and pestle?)

img_1854

Next in was the leeks

img_18561

Stir them around for a few minutes until they are coated and tender then toss in the potatoes, turnips, parsnips and sweet potato 

img_1857

Stir all this around for a few minutes and then add in the water, bay leaf and sage

img_1860

Bring it to a boil and then turn it down and simmer for 20 minutes (looking even better!) and it should look like this

img_1861

Next it goes into the food processor (Don’t forget to take out the bay leaf first!)

img_1862

Once it is all done you can scoop it out and serve it up (if it is too thin you can add a little more water and pulse it a bit more)

img_1863

I served it up with some parsley and a bit of sour cream (I thought with all those root vegetables, sour cream would go well) and it was AMAZING! So tasty, very filling.  Next step is to make it with Z-man and Supergirl and see what they think.

Leave a Reply

Categories

